Terrence L. Aselage

External Advisory Board Member
Website: LinkedIn


Terry Aselage retired as the Director of the Material, Physical, and Chemical Sciences Center 1800 at Sandia National Laboratories in March of 2019. He held that position since May 1, 2017, leading an organization of over 400 people with broad mission impact, from basic research at the forefront of materials science to materials engineering with enduring impact to Sandia’s mission areas. Prior to this position, he was the Director of the Materials Science and Engineering Center. Past management responsibilities included serving as the Chief of Operations and Deputy to the Vice President for Sandia’s Energy and Climate Program Area, senior manager of the Materials Science R&D Group, acting senior manager of the Power Sources Technology Group, and manager of the Thermal and Fluid Processes, Power Source Component Development, and Long-Life Power Sources departments. Prior to his transition to management in 2005, Terry’s research at Sandia focused on the high-temperature synthesis of a variety of electronic materials including boron-rich solids and cuprate superconductors; determining their crystal structures using a wide range of experimental probes; and measuring and interpreting their anomalous electronic and thermal transport properties over an exceptionally wide range of temperatures. His work on unconventional transport in materials and on phase relations in high-Tc cuprates was sponsored by the US DOE Basic Energy Sciences Division of Materials Sciences. His research has been cited over 2850 times, and his current hindex is 29. Terry also developed new designs for power source components and saw their ultimate adoption by Sandia mission organizations. He was named a Distinguished Member of Sandia’s Technical Staff in 2004. Terry received a BS in Chemical Engineering from the University of Notre Dame in 1979 and a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering in 1984 from the University of Florida. He has also served on advisory panels for North Carolina State, Georgia Tech, and the University of New Mexico.